top of page

Reflections on a newly formed friendship

When I left Morocco, I left with a friendship bridged between two individuals raised in radically different environments. Thalal and I don’t speak the same language fluently, we don’t believe in the same religion, and we grew up in very different types of governments. We do not share the same views on life, but we are able to share our views with each other without the threat of unfair judgment and with the upmost respect for each other. I don’t always feel safe talking about my views on life without extreme filtering to others, but I am completely comfortable when talking to Thalal. His tolerance, patient, and understanding has made it possible for us to talk about topics that I originally thought impossible to discuss between a Muslim Moroccan and a conservative American. I don’t think it is normal for people to become this close within two weeks and I cannot really explain how or why we became this close because it does not even make sense to me. I know it sounds insane and improbable for someone to be able to make a lifelong friend within such a short amount of time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
For constant updates, follow us on Facebook!
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page