top of page

Why This Project Matters to Me

Earlier I touched upon why I think the arts are important. Unfortunately, because my coursework at New York University is primarily focused upon the sciences and within the business sector, my sense of value and artistic appreciation has gradually dulled. Over the past two years since I have quit performing, I have listened to less classical and jazz music that I would like to, and the arts have lost their sense of “magic.” I become consumed with landing a job after graduation, and I spent more time on that and less time focusing on appreciating all the wonderful and great art around me (especially being in New York).

However, this all changed when I started working on this project. Being able to see women from two completely different cultures interact with one another, embrace one another, and love one another, is truly powerful. There is no common forum for communication. The women from the American delegation and Moroccan delegation do not speak the same language nor do they come from the same ethnic or religious backgrounds. Their only avenue for interaction is their art. Their art literally brought them, two groups with very little foundation for basic communication, together. It’s inspirational to me. It makes me want to go out into the world and absorb all the art and culture that I can, because as much as art is used to memorialize our past, it is more so used to celebrate to present. And that is something that I really need to learn to do again.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
For constant updates, follow us on Facebook!
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page